Monday, March 19, 2018



Grades 8 and 9:

The following Learning Areas are offered for the General Education and Training Certificate (GETC):

Language, Literacy and Communication:  English Primary Language; Afrikaans Primary Language; English Additional Language; Afrikaans Additional Language

Mathematics; Natural Sciences, Technology; Life Orientation; Human and Social Sciences; Economic and Management Sciences; Arts and Culture.

Grades 10 to 12:

The following Components are offered for the Further Education and Training Certificate (FETC):

       Fundamental Learning Component:
             Four subjects:
             Life Orientation
             Home Language (English and/or Afrikaans)
             First Additional Language (Afrikaans or English)

      Core Learning Component:
             Two subjects:
             Engineering Graphics and Design
             and One of the following subjects:
                   Civil Technology
                   Electrical Technology
                   Mechanical Technology

    Elective Learning Component:
             Physical Science

     Information Technology is offered as an optional 8th subject for selected learners only

Opportunities for Tertiary Study

The above sought-after Learning Components, which are critical for the future and rapidly-expanding technological age, should enable our learners to proceed with their studies in most, if not all, fields of study at tertiary institutions.